Santes Creus Royal Monastery
Santes Creus Monastery came into being in 1160 thanks to the patronage of the houses of Montcada and of Cervelló, as well as Count Ramon Berenguer IV. The monks, originally from Grandselve Abbey in Occitania, found the ideal place on the bank of the Gaià River to build a monastery that became and remained until 1835 the centre of one of the most extensive and influential feudal estates. Santes Creus was at its apogee in the 13th and 14th centuries thanks to the favour of the monarchs and the nobility. King Peter the Great and James II the Just and Queen Blanche of Anjou chose it as their pantheon and became active patrons and protectors of the monastery. Their remains lie in the church in two funerary monuments, regarded as outstanding examples of the early Catalan Gothic style and the only ones of the Crown of Aragon to have survived intact.
This guided tour of the monument provides an opportunity to discover the most important areas of the Cistercian abbey, such as the Gothic cloister and the royal mausoleums, while learning about the history of the order and of how the monks lived.
Duration: 1 h
Charge: €4 per person, free for children aged up to eight (does not include admission to the monument)
Dates: by prior booking
Type of activity: guided tour